Roots Rock Review logo and tagline

The Modern Day

Roots Rock Review covers modern day Americana, Blues, Jazz, Folk, as well as other types of original music which falls just outside the bounds of mainstream rock and roll.


Artist Features

Bob DylanOctober 13, 2016

In an unexpected move, Bob Dylan became the first musical composer to win the Nobel Prize in Literature in its 115 year history.

Read more


Chris MurphySeptember 16, 2016

A musical performer, producer, educator and philosopher, Chris Murphy is in the process of unleashing a tidal force of original, organic and entertaining music.

Chris Murphy feature


JD and the Straight ShotAugust 3, 2016

New York based roots group JD & the Straight Shot have recently released their fifth LP, Ballyhoo!, and are touring with Joe Walsh through the summer of 2016.

JD & the Straight Shot feature



Album Reviews

Where the Lore Began by Jeremiah TallNovember 10, 2016

Built on his one man live show, which includes guitar, banjo, mandolin, harmonica and a custom suitcase kick drum, the 2015 LP Where the Lore Began by Jeremiah Tall delivers strong and entertaining songs which make for a pleasant listen.

Review of Where the Lore Began


Detroitville by Nick PivotOctober 26, 2016

Nick Pivot has lived his life as a writer, auto worker and musician in the motor city and has encapsulated all of his experience in his whimsical, country-fused debut EP Detroitville.

Review of Detroitville


My Side by The Electric Rag BandAugust 19, 2016

The Electric Rag Band is a father and son duo from Tulsa, Oklahoma who have a knack for fusing many types of roots genres into a natural sounding Americana stomp. My Side is the latest release from the group and it features original and entertaining songs.

Review of My Side


American V: A Hundred Highways by Johnny CashJuly 4, 2016

The first posthumous album by Johnny Cash, American V: A Hundred Highways was released as the fifth in the series of “American Recordings” albums. This haunting and beautiful album features songs recorded in the months immediately preceding Cash’s death in 2003.

Review of American V: A Hundred Highways


Wake Me When the Wind Dies Down by Vicky EmersonJune 30, 2016

Vicky Emerson‘s third LP, Wake Me When the Wind Dies Down finds the sweet spot between authentic forms of Country and Americana and a modern edge which solidifies it as a completely fresh and original collection of tunes.

Review of Wake Me When the Wind Dies Down


Gentlemen East by Bret AlexanderJune 24, 2016

Bret Alexander has been involved with hundreds of albums as a composer, musician, engineer, producer, and studio owner but has only released one official solo record, Gentleman East in 2004. This work is enjoyable from start to finish and stands side by side with the best Americana classics ever produced.

Review of Gentleman East


  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •